On This Day in 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat RCB to win their maiden IPL title – News

Sunrisers Hyderabad win their first and only Indian Premier League (IPL)They had wontrophies when they defeated Royal Challengers Bengaluru at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on this day eight years ago (May 29).

Orange Army made its debut in the T20 tournament in 2013. They come as a follow-up to another series from Hyder

abad – Deccan Chargers, which won the IPL in 2009. The team was disbanded in 2012 due to long-term financial problems.

Sunrisers Hyderabad, led by Kumar Sangakkara, reached the eliminations in the first season but lost to Rajasthan Royals in the Eliminator.SRH failed to produce anything significant in the next two IPLs before making a comeback in 2016.

Under David Warner’s leadership, SRH finished third in the points table after winning eight matches in the competition. In the Eliminator, they defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 22 points. In the next event, SRH had to defeat the Gujarat giants. Warner and Co secured their place in the final by scoring four goals in the last 2 matches.

During that period, ViratKohli became the first player to reach 900 runs in a single IPL. Royal Challengers Bengaluru performed well in IPL 2016 by giving their best. They finished the competition in second place and then earned the bragging rights by beating Gujarat Lions in Qualifier 1. While Virat Kohli won the Orange Cap in IPL 2016, SRH coach David Warner was left behind.

The Australian opener continued his recent form. He hit eightboundaries and three sixes and scored an impressive 68 off 38 deliveries. Emerging SRH players like Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh and Ben Cutting laid the foundation well and helped their team put a massive 208 on the board.

Bengaluru’s play helped them emerge winners in the second game. RCB openers Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle gave the visitors a strong start. RCB reached 114 when Gayle returned to the pavilion after scoring 76 runs on the scoresheet. Kohli was dismissed for 54 runs a few minutes later byBarinder Sran.

After dismissing the opener, not a single RCB batsman could shine with the bat. SRH eventually restricted their opponents to 200 runs to achieve a historic victory. Stay up to date with World Cup 20204. Find the World Cup T20 match today. Check out the updated list of T20 World Cup 2024 top earners and scorers. Check out the list of T20 World Cup 2024 and the list of players with highest sixes, fours, fifties and hundreds in T20 World Cup 2024..

Leave a Comment